Lemhi County Citizen Journalism

Leslie Shumate's picture


The November 7 election produced some tie votes throughout the state, including locally.

In the Elk Bend Fire District race for the commissioner’s seat in District 2, contenders Scott Wayne Wootton and Keith Allen Richards each received 33 votes. 

In such cases the final decision is made by the toss of a coin. At the November 13 meeting of the Lemhi County Commissioners County Clerk Terri Morton was all prepared for the coin flipping occasion with a special Salmon Volunteer Fire Department coin however; the preparations proved to be unnecessary. 

It was announced that Scott Wootton had conceded the race and resigned from the fire district’s board of directors. Keith Richards will now become the Elk Bend Fire District 2 Commissioner.

The other tie vote and subsequent coin-toss situations in Idaho involved city council races in Grangeville and Heyburn. 

Part of the Lemhi County Commissioner’s Monday morning meeting was a canvas of the November 7th election’s local ballots performed by the commissioners and Clerk of the Court Terri Morton. No errors were found in the tabulations and the previously reported numbers were officially accepted.

Off Site Article: 

Check out these fine businesses...


Fire maps

Chamber Video

Double click above to see Salmon Chamber of Commerce video.

Writer Login

Enter the characters shown in the image.